Edward Teller Medal

tellerNominations are requested for the 2017 Edward Teller Medal, sponsored by the American Nuclear Society, given in recognition of pioneering research and leadership in the use of lasers, ion-particle beams or other high intensity drivers to produce unique high-density matter for scientific research and to conduct investigations of inertial fusion.

The medal and a $2000 cash prize will be awarded at the International Conference on Inertial Fusion Sciences and Applications (IFSA) that will be held in Saint Malo, France in September 2017.

Anyone in the inertial fusion field can nominate someone for the Award. Nominations should include: (i) a brief summary of the nominee’s accomplishments, (ii) the nominee’s curriculum vitae, (iii) a suggested citation (25 words or less) and (iv) letters of recommendation from at least one other researcher in the field from a separate institution. The letters of recommendation should cite the nominee’s key achievements relevant to the award. Supporting material such as copies of relevant published articles may be included.

The deadline for nomination is March 1, 2017. All material must be collected by the nominator, packaged as a single PDF file and sent by e-mail to the.

The Award Committee consisting of the prior award winners will select the winners. The Award(s) will be presented at the IFSA conference opening ceremony and the award lecture(s) given during the week.

Edward Teller Awards Committee (prior recipients)

Stefano Atzeni (Italy) – Hiroshi Azechi (Japan) – Nikolai G. Basov (Russia – deceased) – Riccardo Betti (USA) – Michael Campbell (USA) – Robert Dautray (France) – Larry R. Foreman (USA – deceased) – Christine Garban-Labaune (France) – Steven W. Haan (USA) – James Hammer (USA) – Heinrich Hora (Australia) – Michael H. Key (UK) – Joseph D. Kilkenny (USA) – Gennady A. Kirillov (Russia -deceased) – John D. Lindl (USA) – Robert L. McCrory (USA) – Juergen Meyer-ter-Vehn (Germany) – George H. Miley (USA) – Kunioki Mima (Japan) – Edward Moses (USA) – Sadao Nakai (Japan) – John H. Nuckolls (USA) – Richard Petrasso (USA) – Bruce A. Remington (USA) – Mordecai D. Rosen (USA) – Dov Shvarts (Israel) – Laurance Suter (USA) – Max Tabak (USA) – Hideaki Takabe (Japan) – Brian Thomas (UK) – Guillermo Velarde (Spain) – Chiyoe Yamanaka (Japan) – Jie Zhang (China) – George B. Zimmerman (USA)


tellerThe lectures by the Edward Teller medalists are presented in the second edition of the « Edward Teller Lectures – Lasers and Inertial Fusion Energy », edited by H. Hora and G. Miley (World Scientific).